HD SPECIFICATIONS

In order to detail our NEXTMesh specifications, it should be recalled what a mesh is and which parameters are used to describe it.

NEXTMESH ULTRA HD SPECIFICATIONS

In FSX, a mesh is a horizontal grid of the Earth’s surface for supporting the numerical description of the relief. The smaller the grid, the finer terrain relief will be. The global mesh in FSX has a 4.8 km resolution. Europe regions have improved resolution with a 76m mesh resolution. Our HD mesh “whole Europe” is a 19m resolution. NEXTMesh EUROPE – Domestic products at Ultra High Definition are designed with the very best data currently available which is a 5m grid allowing the finest restitution.

NEXTMESH ULTRA HD SPECIFICATIONS

On the other hand, the quality of a mesh can also be measured by its vertical resolution. That is, the precision of measured elevation of each point of the grid. Basic FSX has a vertical resolution of 1m. Our data is accurate to less than 10cm

NEXTMESH ULTRA HD SPECIFICATIONS

Finally the data have to be compiled to be usable by FSX. They are resampled according FSX world grid index system called LOD. This can lead to abuses (see below). Our Ultra HD products are resampled with 4.75m resolution and a vertical accuracy of 12.5cm. Compression rates are optimized to reduce files sizes and preserve data.
Also the files are devided in areas of 0.5° x 1° to optimize the memory occupation and loading time.

NEXTMESH ULTRA HD SPECIFICATIONS

Horizontal data precision : 5m
Vertical data precision : 6.25cm
Ultra HD mesh resolution : 4.75m
HD mesh resolution : 19m
Vertical HD and Ultra HD mesh resolution : 12.5cm

NEXTMESH ULTRA HD SPECIFICATIONS

Sometimes you can find on the internet some mesh files introduced as 4.75m mesh. Most of the times this is kind of fraud. Very often, they they get 30m or 50m Digital Elevation Models and they oversample to 4.75m. As a result you get heavy files with poor data and bad vertical precision. And that can inhibit other good products.

HD SPECIFICATIONS

Pour détailler les spécificatiuons de nos meshs, il convient de rappeler ce qu’est un mesh et quels paramètres permettent de le décrire.

NEXTMESH ULTRA HD SPECIFICATIONS

Dans FSX, un mesh (maillage en anglais) est un quadrillage horizontal de la surface terrestre servant de support à la description numérique du relief. Plus ce maillage est petit, plus la finesse du relief sera grande. Le mesh mondial dans FSX a une maille de 4.8 km. La zone Europe bénéficie d’une résolution améliorée avec une maille à 76m. Par comparaison, notre mesh HD « Europe entière » utilise un maillage à 19m. Les produits nationaux en ultra haute définition sont élaborés avec les meilleurs données actuellement disponibles soit un maillage à 5m permettant la plus fine restitution sous FSX

NEXTMESH ULTRA HD SPECIFICATIONS

D’autre part, la précision d’un mesh se mesure aussi à sa résolution verticale. C’est à dire la précision avec laquelle on mesure l’élévation de chaque point de la maille. De base FSX a une résolution verticale de 1m. Nos données sont précises à moins de 10 cm

NEXTMESH ULTRA HD SPECIFICATIONS

Enfin la mise en forme de ces données, pour être exploitables par FSX, consiste à être rééchantillonnée selon les grilles du monde FSX appelées LOD. Cette opération peut donner lieu à des abus (voir plus bas). Pour nos produits haute définitions, elle est réalisée au plus juste en échantillonnant à 4.75m, avec une précision verticale de 12.5cm et des taux de compression qui tout en préservant les données, permettent de réduire la taille des fichiers.
De plus les fichiers sont segmentés en secteurs de 1°x0.5° afin d’optimiser l’occupation mémoire et les temps de chargement.

NEXTMESH ULTRA HD SPECIFICATIONS

Précision horizontale du maillage des données : 5m
Précision verticale des données : 6.25cm
Précision des meshs Ultra HD nationaux : 4.75m
Précision du mesh HD Europe entière : 19m
Précision verticale des meshs HD et ultra HD : 12.5cm

NEXTMESH ULTRA HD SPECIFICATIONS

On trouve sur internet et parfois dans le commerce des mesh qui s’annoncent à 4.75m. Il s’agit souvent de la période d’échantillonnage et non de la résolution du mesh.On se retrouve alors avec des mesh grossiers lourds comme des meshs plus précis souvent avec une précision verticale au maximum de 50cm. Et qui peuvent inhiber d’autres produits.